Quick Link: Armistead Maupin to move to Santa Fe

This is surprising: Armistead Maupin, best known for the eight novels in his Tales of the City series, is leaving San Francisco. He and his husband plan to settle in Santa Fe.  Maupin, quoted in the article, says “It’s been 41 years since I landed here and it gave me my story. … I keep reminding myself that Barbary Lane is portable and everything I learned here became part of me and is something I’ll always have.”

Stuff like this always makes me vaguely uncomfortable as I wonder if I’ll do something similar one day. I used to always threaten to move to New Mexico when I was having a hippie/back-to-nature phase; I don’t think I would actually do it, but now that I’ve lived in Los Angeles and abroad I wonder if San Francisco will be everything it used to be for me. On the other hand, I become very attached very quickly to places I’ve lived, and I think if I live in many more places in my life I’ll be reduced to a helpless, quivering ball of constant nostalgia.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Quick Link: Armistead Maupin to move to Santa Fe

  1. Daniel says:

    One thing that it won’t be for you is cheap! 🙂 (from a Central Coast resident)

  2. letizia says:

    I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! 🙂

  3. This seems so strange to me. Armisted Maupin seems like such a quintessential San Franciscan who, like Herb Caen before him, really captured the essence and spirit of the city through their words. What’s next … Willie Brown moves to LA???

Leave a Reply

